Wk12- Art Experience- Ethnography (Pre-Electric Cultures)

Going into this project, I thought it would be easy. Im usually not one to constantly be on my phone, so I thought it would be easy for me to do this project. I decided to spend a night (not a full night only until about 12 a.m) at Signal Hill. I chose Signal Hill because I’m pretty familiar with the area, and I didn’t want to get lost. I used to spend a lot of summer afternoons finding new trails around Signal Hill, often times making my own. Signal Hill is a very relaxing place to be. There aren’t many lights around the trails, and I left my phone inside my backpack during the whole trip(except to take pictures), so not using electricity was pretty easy, until it started getting dark. When it first started getting dark, my friend and I sat down for a while to enjoy the sunset. We then decided that we shouldn’t walk around in the dark, so the only choice we had was to use our hiking flash light. We only used it when it was necessary, and tried our best not to use it. Not using any electricity when being in a beautiful place like Signal Hill really helps you admire your surroundings. There is always so much to see where ever you look, it never gets boring. I think that there are too many people that are so addicted to their devices, that they don’t take the time to stare at the world around them. Our world is such a beautiful place, and everyone deserves to see it.

Leave a Reply

